21 Sep 2023

Thunder squad confirmed for final game of 2023 season

Newcastle Thunder head coach Chris Thorman has named his final 21-man squad of the 2023 season as they travel to Batley Bulldogs.

The fixture kicks off at 3pm on Saturday, September 23 at The Fox’s Biscuit Stadium.

The squad sees only one change from the side that put on an emphatic display against Barrow Raiders at Kingston Park last time out.

New Reserves signing Mike Ogunwole drops out, with half-back Jack Miller returning following a lengthy spell on the sidelines through injury.

Gideon Boafo is also included and will be looking to continue his stellar try-scoring run, following his brace last week.

The winger has recorded 11 tries so far this season and is currently on a run of six tries from his last four games.

Nikau Williams retains his place following an impressive performance last week, that saw him surpass 100 points for the club throughout the 2023 campaign.

Jack Johnson is another in contention and could add to his 50 Thunder appearances, having hit the career milestone in the 36-24 victory over Barrow Raiders last week.


(Player // Player sponsor)

1 Jack Johnson // Tony Carter Transport Ltd.

3 Marcus Walker // BTS Boiler Technical.

5 Alex Clegg // Heist Store Ltd.

6 Alex Donaghy // The Tynemouth Castle Inn, part of the Inn Collection Group.

7 Nikau Williams // MMG Sports.

8 Jay Chapelhow // GMR Construction.

9 Curtis Davies // The Bamburgh Castle Inn, part of the Inn Collection Group.

13 Connor Bailey // Stakeford Tyre Services.

14 Denive Balmforth // Italica.

15 Ted Chapelhow // GMR Construction.

17 Robert Tuliatu // Wallsend Eagles.

18 Jake Lightowler // Gunpoint.

20 Gideon Boafo // Tony Carter Transport Ltd.

25 Max Flanagan // National Care Network.

26 Mac Walsh // National Care Network.

27 Jack Miller // The Parker Family.

28 Tyler Walton // Lowes Financial Management.


40 Evan Simons // Tony Carter Transport Ltd.

41 Nathan Rushworth // AVAILABLE TO SPONSOR.

44 James McGurk // Jarrow Vikings.