15 Sep 2023

Thunder squad confirmed for Barrow visit

Newcastle Thunder head coach Chris Thorman has named his 21-man squad for the club’s final home game of the 2023 season.

Taking place on Saturday, September 16 and kicking off at 3pm, the squad sees only one change to the side that fell to defeat against Featherstone Rovers.

Powerhouse prop Mitch Clark is ruled out following a two-game suspension for dangerous contact against Toulouse Olympique XIII and is replaced by Greek international Robert Tuliatu.

Tuliatu has seen a recent spell on the sidelines following an injury but returns to the squad, looking to add to his 23 appearances made this season.

Gideon Boafo retains his place following a brace of tries in the 56-22 defeat to the league leaders Featherstone Rovers last week.

Further academy graduates in James McGurk and Nathan Rushworth are also included having been named in last week’s squad. Rushworth earning his Thunder debut last time out, coming on in the 65th minute.


1 Jack Johnson // Tony Carter Transport Ltd.

3 Marcus Walker // BTS Boiler Technical.

5 Alex Clegg // Heist Store Ltd.

6 Alex Donaghy // The Tynemouth Castle Inn, part of The Inn Collection Group.

7 Nikau Williams // MMG Sports.

8 Jay Chapelhow // GMR Construction.

9 Curtis Davies // The Bamburgh Castle Inn, part of The Inn Collection Group.

13 Connor Bailey // Stakeford Tyre Services.

14 Denive Balmforth // Italica.

15 Ted Chapelhow // GMR Construction.

17 Robert Tuliatu // Wallsend Eagles.

18 Jake Lightowler //Gunpoint.

20 Gideon Boafo // Tony Carter Transport Ltd.

23 Connor Moore // Derwent View Group.

26 Mac Walsh // National Care Network.

28 Tyler Walton // Lowes Financial Management.


40 Evan Simons // Tony Carter Transport Ltd.

41 Mike Ogunwole // AVAILABLE TO SPONSOR.

44 Nathan Rushworth // AVAILABLE TO SPONSOR.

45 James McGurk // Jarrow Vikings.