12 May 2023

Newcastle Thunder confirm squad for York trip

Newcastle Thunder head coach Chris Thorman has named his 21-man squad to travel to York RLFC Knights in Round 11 of the Betfred Championship.

Taking place on Sunday, May 14, the second meeting of the season between the two clubs kicks off at 3pm.

Thunder sees several changes from the squad that lost out to Halifax Panthers last week.

Winger Alex Young returns to the fold, following a spell on the sidelines with broken ribs and the squad also sees centre Marcus Walker included, having recovered from a hamstring injury.

Wakefield Trinity loanee Dane Windrow is also included in the squad to take on York Knights and newly announced trialist and experienced utility back Oscar Thomas is also named.

Hull FC duo Denive Balmforth and Nick Staveley maintain their places alongside Hull KR loanees Connor Moore and Daniel Okoro.

Winger Gideon Boafo is also named having featured last week against Halifax, following a lengthy spell on the sidelines with  injury.

Club captain Alex Fosters and fullback Jack Johnson both miss out having picked up injuries last week – Foster during last week’s clash with Halifax and Johnson through training.  


(PLAYER // Player sponsor)

2 Alex Young // Sponsored by: Autofix Washington Ltd.

3 Marcus Walker // Sponsored by: BTS Boiler Technical 

 4 Oscar Thomas // AVAILABLE TO SPONSOR 

 5 Alex Clegg // Sponsored by: Heist Store Ltd. 

 6 Alex Donaghy // Sponsored by: The Tynemouth Castle Inn 

 7 Nikau Williams // Sponsored by: MMG Sports 

 8 Jay Chapelhow // Sponsored by: GMR Construction 

 9 Curtis Davies // Sponsored by: The Bamburgh Castle Inn 

 10 Mitch Clark // Sponsored by: Ludwell Electrical 

 12 Brad Gallagher // Sponsored by: Ludwell Electrical 

 13 Connor Bailey // Sponsored by: Stakeford Tyre Services 

 14 Denive Balmforth // Sponsored by: Italica 

 15 Ted Chapelhow // Sponsored by: GMR Construction 

 17 Robert Tuliatu // Sponsored by: Wallsend Eagles 

 20 Gideon Boafo // Sponsored by: Tony Carter Transport Ltd. 

 22 Jake Anderson // Sponsored by: Jan & Jim Neighbour 

 23 Connor Moore // Sponsored by: Derwent View Group 

 24 Daniel Okoro // Sponsored by: Sapphire HR 

 27 Jack Miller // Sponsored by: The Parker Family 

 28 Dane Windrow // AVAILABLE TO SPONSOR 

 29 Nick Staveley // AVAILABLE TO SPONSOR