14 Jul 2021


Newcastle Thunder youngsters Jake Anderson and Evan Lawther have been selected for the 23-man Lancashire origin academy squad, ahead of the match against Yorkshire on August 4.

The pair have drawn the attention of the selectors whilst enjoying strong seasons in the club’s academy matches to date in 2021.

Anderson’s form has seen him earn a call-up to the Thunder first team squad in recent weeks and make his debut for the club against Featherstone Rovers.

The England U19 international came off the bench to make his senior bow in the round 11 clash and has retained that position for the wins over York City Knights and Dewsbury Rams.

Lawther was also included in the 21-man squad ahead of the Rovers match and whilst waiting on the opportunity to take to the field with the seniors, has impressed in the U19s fixtures so far this year.

Both products of community club Gateshead Storm, their progression underlines the pathway that exists for local players to progress the careers in the north east.

Off the field, Thunder academy manager Michael Heap will also join up with the Lancashire side as part of the coaching panel for the game.

Yorkshire versus Lancashire will be streamed live on Our League at 11am on Wednesday 4 August.


Jake Anderson (Newcastle Thunder), Cole Appleby (St Helens), Logan Astley (Wigan Warriors), Luke Broadbent, Jack Darbyshire (both Warrington Wolves), George Delaney (St Helens), Jacob Douglas, Zach Eckersley, Tom Forber (all Wigan Warriors), Daniel Ganson (St Helens), Leon Hayes (Warrington Wolves), Sam Haynes (St Helens), Tom Horton-Burnett (Warrington Wolves), Ben Lane (St Helens), Evan Lawther (Newcastle Thunder), Harvey Makin, Junior Nsemba (both Wigan Warriors), Taylor Pemberton (St Helens), Fenton Rogers (Huddersfield Giants), Reece Sumner (St Helens), Alex Sutton (Wigan Warriors), Luke Thomas (Warrington Wolves), Tom Whitehead (Warrington Wolves)


Denive Balmforth (Warrington Wolves), Lewis Camden (Bradford Bulls), Levi Edwards (Leeds Rhinos), Sam Eseh (Wakefield Trinity), Oliver Field, Will Gatus (both Leeds Rhinos), Brad Graham (Castleford Tigers), Joe Hird (Leeds Rhinos), Jacob Hookem, Davy Litten (both Hull FC), Connor Moore (Hull Kingston Rovers), Matty Nicholson (Wigan Warriors), Tom Nicholson-Watton (Leeds Rhinos), Pat O'Donovan (Wakefield Trinity), Euan Parke (London Broncos), Will Pryce (Huddersfield Giants), Jason Qareqare, Cain Robb (both Castleford Tigers), Kieran Rush (Huddersfield Giants), Callum Rutland (Hull FC), Max Simpson (Leeds Rhinos), Nick Staveley (Hull FC), McKenzie Turner (Leeds Rhinos).